Housing Board

Basement Apartment or Room for Rent (in House with Family)

Furnished basement with private bath and living space

Location: Southwest Denver
Application:
Move-in Date: Available Now
Rent Range: 850/month
Description:

For the past 1.5 years, we have rented our furnished basement to a CCU graduate student. She has decided to move into an apartment with several friends, so now we’re looking for someone else to share our home with.

The space we have available is a furnished studio apartment in the basement of our home. The basement does not have a private entrance. There is a full-size bed with bookshelf headboard and six drawers of under-bed storage, a small walk-in closet, a living/study space with leather loveseat, smart TV and a small desk and office chair. The space includes a private bathroom that was built new in 2020, with a shower, toilet, and vanity. There is also a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave, dorm-sized refrigerator, counter space and several cabinets you can use. Also in the basement is a shared laundry area. The door at the top of the stairs leading to the basement can be locked when you need privacy. The basement does not have its own thermostat, but it does have two vents which can be opened or closed to regulate the temperature. We also have a radiant heater if you need extra heat, however our last renter never felt the need to use it.

The main level of our home includes a living room, full kitchen, and dining room. We also have a large backyard, with a deck and hot tub. Our home backs up to the Bear Creek Trail greenbelt, providing easy access to biking or walking trails. We live in a relatively quiet neighborhood which only has one road into it, so we don’t get a lot of traffic. Walmart and King Soopers are both a short 10-15 minute drive, as well as many other stores, restaurants and churches. Denver Seminary is a 15-20 minute drive depending on traffic.

We have lived in this home for 20+ years. I am self-employed and work from home in an office on the second level of the house. My wife is an art teacher at a private school. The main level of our home also has a large table and studio space where my wife occasionally teaches classes. We have three adult children who live in other states, but visit every now and then. We have two friendly medium-sized dogs, but we don’t allow them in your basement space. No other pets are allowed.

Rent is $850 per month, which includes utilities, laundry and wi-fi. We do ask that you fill out a rental application and background check, and sign a rental agreement if it seems like a good fit for both you and us. Please contact us if you would like to know more or want to come see the space in person.

To Apply: Craig Pritchett, wepritchetts@gmail.com 303-639-9766